Meatballs and Gravy

I can’t believe I don’t have meatballs and gravy posted here already, but I went looking through and realized that, 1) my consistency in categorizing recipes kind of sucks and 2) I don’t have the recipe posted. So, let’s fix that. Also, I really need to make some meatballs now.

Traditional Meatballs

1 lb ground beef (I like 85/15 or 90/10)
1 tsp minced garlic
1 egg
1/2 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
1/2 cup parmigiano-reggiano or romano cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Paleo Meatballs

1 lb ground beef (I like 85/15 or 90/10)
1 tsp minced garlic
1 egg
1 Tbsp parsley
1 tsp basil
salt and pepper to taste
(can add 1/4 cup almond flour if the mixture needs binding, but I usually don’t have a problem without it)

Primal Meatballs (how I usually make them)

1 lb ground beef (I like 85/15 or 90/10)
1 tsp minced garlic
1 egg
1/4 cup grated parmigianno reggiano cheese
1 Tbsp parsley
1 tsp basil
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Mix all the ingredients, form into balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with foil. Bake for 12-15 minutes. It doesn’t matter if they aren’t cooked through, they’re going to simmer in the gravy.

Gravy

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 lb Italian sausages (optional)
1 lb spareribs (optional)
1/2 onion diced
1 clove minced garlic
2-3  28oz cans crushed tomato or tomato puree (use 3 if you’re using all the meat, 2 for just meatballs)
Parsley, basil, salt and pepper to taste

Place olive oil in a large pot. If using sausages and/or spareribs add the meat in batches (not overlapping) so that it’s browned on all sides. Remove and set on a plate. Drain off excess fat (leave a little or add more olive oil) and saute the onions and garlic until soft but not browned. Add the tomatoes and seasonings and bring to a boil, stirring consistently. Add the meatballs (and other meat, if using), cover and turn heat to lowest setting to simmer for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Serve over pasta or as desired.

0 Responses to “Meatballs and Gravy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
wordpress visitor counter

