Paleo Crockpot Spicy Beef Stew

I love using the crockpot year round but especially in the fall when I’m craving warm bowls of food. In fact this time of year I have to remind myself to eat salad because all I usually want is some sort of one pot meal of warmth. This recipe is inspired from a few different recipes I looked at online and then tweaked to my taste. I’ve made this beef stew twice now and I love the hint of heat from the cayenne. I’ve made it once with sweet potatoes and once with parsnips. Either is good, although you could certainly add both. The potato starch isn’t technically paleo but many people, including me, who follow a paleo or primal diet can handle a small amount with no ill effects. If it’s not your thing, leave it out. I just like the thickness it gives the sauce.

Crockpot Spicy Beef Stew

1 1/2 – 2 lbs stew beef
2 sweet potatoes (or 5 parsnips), peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks
2 large carrots, peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks
1/2 medium white onion, sliced
1 14oz can diced tomatoes
1/2 of the tomato can filled with water
1 Tbsp kosher salt
1 tsp pepper
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cayenne
1 Tbsp potato starch (optional)

Put everything except the potato starch (if using)  in your crock pot, cook on low for 8 hours. Before serving stir in the potato starch and let sit for 10-15 minutes to thicken. Serve and eat!

0 Responses to “Paleo Crockpot Spicy Beef Stew”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
wordpress visitor counter

