Pumpkin Sausage Soup (Paleo)

Still the season for soup and pumpkin, so why not make pumpkin soup! This turned out delicious – I got 6 hardy servings out of it. I’m hoping I have the willpower to freeze at least one serving but we’ll see if I devour all before I get a chance.

Pumpkin Sausage Soup
from West Coast Strength and Conditioning

2 cans pumpkin (I used Trader Joe’s brand)
~1 cup chopped mushrooms (I omitted because I don’t care for mushrooms)
1 onion, diced
1-1.25lb bulk sausage (I used 1 lb)
4 cups chicken broth
2tbs grass-fed butter (or coconut oil, or olive oil if you don’t do dairy)
Oregano, thyme, rosemary, paprika, crushed red pepper flakes (about a teaspoon of each)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 cup coconut milk

Melt the butter in a soup pan over medium heat.
Add mushrooms and cook until nice and brown. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Add diced onion to the pot, and cook until translucent and soft.
Add sausage to the pot, and cook until nicely browned, stirring and breaking it apart with a wooden spoon.
Once the sausage is thoroughly cooked, add the pumpkin and broth to the pot and stir well, stirring in the  spices at this point as well.
Simmer for about 20 minutes, making sure to stir frequently.
Remove from the heat, stir in the coconut milk, serve, and enjoy!

0 Responses to “Pumpkin Sausage Soup (Paleo)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
wordpress visitor counter

