Ginger Orange Chicken (Paleo)

I saw this recipe on The Foodie and the Family and knew I had to try it. So glad I did, it did not disappoint!

Ginger Orange Chicken
Slightly adapted from The Foodie and the Family

1 – 4 lb free range chicken, cut into 8 parts (I just ask my butcher to cut the chicken for me)
1/4 cup chopped gingerroot (about 2 inches)
1/4 cup Bragg’s aminos (or coconut aminos)
2 oranges, zested and juiced
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
2 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons minced garlic
salt and pepper to taste
pinch of red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place the chicken pieces in a 9×13 baking dish in a single layer.

In a small bowl, combine gingerroot, aminos, orange zest, orange juice, lemon juice, sesame oil, honey, garlic, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

Cook chicken for 40-45 minutes, basting with ginger orange sauce at 15 minutes, 25 minutes, and 35 minutes.

I also took the juice, drippings and marinade left at the bottom of the dish, heated it over the stove with a little butter and potato starch (or arrowroot, etc) to make a sauce. I wish I had portioned out some of the marinade and kept to make a sauce since I definitely didn’t use it all up basting the chicken. Delicious!

0 Responses to “Ginger Orange Chicken (Paleo)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
wordpress visitor counter

