Nana’s Spanish Saffron Chicken Soup (Paleo)

This is a  bowl of nostalgia! The first time I made this I was nervous about using just water and not adding some broth but I wanted to follow Nana’s recipe so I didn’t change it. I’m so glad! It is perfect as is. Exactly as I remember it as a child. Spanish saffron is pricey but so worth it.

Nana’s Spanish Saffron Chicken Soup

1 lb of chicken pieces
1 clove minced garlic
olive oil
2 pinches of Spanish saffron
salt and pepper to taste
parsley

Saute the garlic in pasta pot. Fry chicken in garlic and olive oil. Put enough water in pan to cover the chicken (about a quart or so). Add salt, pepper, parsley, and 2 pinches of dried saffron. Boil about 1 hr 15 minutes and serve broth and chicken over cooked spaghetti.

1 Response to “Nana’s Spanish Saffron Chicken Soup (Paleo)”


  1. 1 Alexandra August 28, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I’ve never actually had saffron, but I hear it’s really yummy. I was looking for a homestyle recipe to try it in and I think this is it! It looks simple, but I like simple. I want something where I can taste the spices. Less is more, eh?

    -Alexandra


Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
wordpress visitor counter

