Homemade Lara Bars

I buy very little processed or pre-packaged food but from time to time, especially if I’m traveling (as I was last week) I will pick up some Lara bars as portable snacks. They’re perfect because they’re not only tasty but I really dig the two or three ingredient list. Dates, nuts. Dates, nuts, citrus. Dates, nuts, coconut. Etcetera.

Lara bars, however, are not inexpensive at $1.50 each so I decided to make my own this weekend. I was in Costco and saw a tub of medjool dates and a large bag of raw almonds. So pretty much my work was done! Except I had been craving some coconut and I had some unsweetened coconut flake at the house. Easy peasy.

(Excuse the crappy cell phone pics.)(And also how I switch between weight and volume measurements.)

Homemade Lara Bars: Chocolate Coconut
8 medjool dates
4 oz raw almonds
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flake
3 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 Tbsp unsweetened almond milk (or liquid of your choice)

Add the dates, nuts, cocoa powder and liquid to a food processor and process until a big ball forms.
Transfer to a bowl and add the coconut. Prepare to get your hands dirty.

Knead the dough until the coconut is combined and transfer to a sheet of plastic wrap. Use the plastic wrap to shape into a large rectangle and cut 5 servings.

Wrap each bar and store in the fridge.

These are super chocolately fudgey so, that kind of speaks for itself. Next weekend I’m going to add some chocolate protein powder and make Lara protein bars!

1 Response to “Homemade Lara Bars”


  1. 1 sas October 1, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    I made something similar this weekend and LOVED it! Similarly hate to buy “natural” products with ingredients I can’t pronounce.


Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
wordpress visitor counter

