Giambotta

Most recipes I’ve seen for giambotta have eggplant in them, but my Nana always made it with zucchini so that’s how I like it. I do love eggplant, of course, but I like fond memories and familiar flavors better.

I can’t guarantee this is my Nana’s exact recipe (I seem to recall she also put green beans in hers, but I haven’t tried that yet) but the taste is quite similar and regardless, it’s s delicious, easy, healthy and delicious (oh, I said that already? It’s worth repeating) veggie stew.

Giambotta

2 zucchini
1 red bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
1 medium onion
2 potatoes
14 oz can of plum tomatoes
kosher salt
black pepper
basil

Dice all the veggies into similar size pieces, including canned tomatoes. Spray a large pot (or add a tablespoon of oil) and add to pot (with the juice from the tomato can). Season simply with salt, pepper and basil and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes.

I prefer this after it’s set in the fridge over night, but you can certainly enjoy it right away. It’s completely simple and delicious.

3 Responses to “Giambotta”


  1. 2 sydneybristow2009 May 3, 2010 at 7:35 am

    I am totally going ot make this, white potato and all, and use it as my veggie AND carb to go with your turkey meatballs. A complete meal, no ?


  1. 1 It Probably Just Means I’m Crazy « amyella Trackback on April 27, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
wordpress visitor counter

