Ziti, Chicken and Broccoli

My friend Joe emailed me last week and said “do you have a lowfat recipe for ziti, chicken and broccoli”? And I was like, uh, I can make one – how about something creamy like an alfredo sauce. He replied “no but I want something lowfat” and I was all DO YOU NOT KNOW ME?????

So I created this and emailed it to him even though I have never made it. Tonight when I got home from the gym I couldn’t stop thinking about “mmm creamy alfredo and chickens and broccolis mmmm”. So I made it (without the pasta because, hi, have I mentioned I’m going to CA next weekend?)

It was yummy.

Ziti, Chicken and Broccoli for Joe

1 pound ziti
3 cloves chopped garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon flour
1 pint fat free half and half cream
1 can low sodium, fat free chicken broth
1 cube chicken bouillon
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper
1 bag broccoli florets, steamed
4 boneless skinless chicken breast, cooked and cubed

-Cook pasta until al dente

-In a large skillet, saute garlic the olive oil over medium heat. Add the flour to make a roux. When the flour makes a paste stir in the fat free half and half, chicken broth, and bouillon. Add Parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper. Simmer all together for about 20 minutes.

-Once sauce is cooked and thickens, add broccoli and cook for another 2 to 3 minutes. Once sauce is done, put cooked ziti in a large bowl, pour sauce over pasta and mix. Then add the chicken pieces and mix all together.

2 Responses to “Ziti, Chicken and Broccoli”


  1. 1 Kristin February 2, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    Yeah, steer clear of the pasta because you know if you show up bloated I will of course make you get back on the plane and go home, because I’m intolerant like that.

  2. 2 AnnMarie Cunniff April 22, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Try this one:
    1 Large Package Perdue Shortcuts Turkey
    1 16 oz. Bag chopped frozen broccoli
    1 Box “Whole Grain” Penne Pasta (tastes the same as regular pasta but it’s
    6 chicken bouillon cubes
    Extra virgin Olive oil
    Chopped garlic ( lightly browned in olive oil if fresh)
    4 cups water
    1/23 cup or more of Romano cheese
    ½ stick butter (optional)

    Cook pasta and broccoli together in a stock pot, 11 minutes for el dente.
    In saucepan bring bouillon cubes and water to a boil, slowly whip in Romano cheese.
    Drain Pasta and broccoli together in colander, then back into pot add butter, mix until it all melts.
    Add the cheese and bouillon cubes to the pasta and broccoli, mix well.

    When everyone is served, I drain the extra sauce out so it does not get absorbed by the pasta.
    Store sauce and pasta mix separately.
    Mix a little sauce back in when microwaving to heat it up…IF THERE IS ANY LEFTOVER, there never is at my house.


Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
wordpress visitor counter

