Chicken Soup

It’s probably the weather, but I was really craving some homemade chicken soup so I whipped some up in the crockpot the other day.

While I’m thinking of it, I own the world’s MOST PATHETIC food processor. Seriously. I really don’t want to go out and buy a new one, but this thing is really lame. It will process approximately 1/4 of a carrot at a time. Yeah.

Anyway, I mention that because I wanted to get veggies in my soup, but I wanted to puree them. I’m not a fan of chunky veggies in chicken soup. Also, I prefer rice over noodles but you can alter this recipe (method) pretty much however you like.

Here’s how I made mine this week. No macros listed because ingredients can be switched up so easily to your tastes so YMMV.

Easy Homemade Chicken Soup

4 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded (I season mine with S&P, spray a pot, add the chicken and cover with the lid so it steams)
1 bag frozen broccoli florets, microwaved then food processed
2 fresh carrots, food processed
1/2 medium white onion, food processed
2 stalks celery, food processed
1 cup brown rice, uncooked
2-3 boxes (32 ounces each) reduced sodium, fat free chicken broth
salt, pepper, thyme, marjoram, basil, bay leaf

Plop all in the crockpot and cook on low 6-8 hours. This makes a ton, I put a few individual servings in the freezer to have ready whenever I get a craving for soup. Also, it tastes momunentally better after about two days in the fridge.

P.S. Of course you also really should put a teaspoon of grated parmesan on top of your bowl of chicken soup. Is there any other way to eat it?

0 Responses to “Chicken Soup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
wordpress visitor counter

