Walnut Blueberry Oat Crunch "Muffin"

Amy’s Walnut Blueberry Oat Crunch “Muffin”

1 bag frozen blueberries (about 2.25 cups)
3 cups oats
2 cups Fiber One cereal
1 cup walnuts
5 cups eggbeaters
splenda and cinnamon to taste.

Mix all. Spray 12 jumbo muffin tins with cooking spray and distribute evenly. Bake at 425 for 35-40 minutes. Let cool, store in fridge. Don’t eat these straight from the oven, they’ll taste “eggy”. Give them a day in the fridge first.

Dance and sing with joy at its yumminess.

Makes 12 servings. Each serving:
224 calories
8.2 g fat
26.6 g carb
8.25 g fiber
16.25 g protein

8 Responses to “Walnut Blueberry Oat Crunch "Muffin"”


  1. 1 Jane January 26, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Oh. Wow.

    Now if you’ll excuse me I must go to the grocery store …. because I need to make these NOW !!

  2. 2 Trojan January 26, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Hell Yeah! Here come the awesome recipes:)

  3. 3 April January 27, 2008 at 2:22 am

    When does your cookbook come out? I know we get the recipes for free but i’d still buy it!

  4. 4 causticmuse February 4, 2008 at 3:16 am

    I just did a half batch of these with a few substitutions to use up stuff I had on hand. I used a 50/50 mix of blueberries and cranberries, and mixed in 2.5 cups of egg whites from a carton instead of regular eggbeaters.

    Oh, and I used a muffin pan with regular sized cups.

    I baked for 40 minutes, which, looking at my muffins, might have been a bit too long. I’d go with 30-35 minutes and frequent checks at the end if you are using making regular size muffins.

    All of them have a crunchy, dark brown crust on them which I find sort of yummy (faux croissant or puff pastry!), but the insides are moist and delicious.

    I got 12 regular sized muffins out of half the recipe, so 2 muffins = 1 serving. YAYAYAYAYAYAY!

  5. 5 causticmuse February 13, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Made these again last night (half batch, 12 regular size muffin cups, liquid egg whites instead of eggbeaters, 50% blueberries/50% frozen cranberries), but only baked for 25 minutes instead of 40. PERFECT!

  6. 6 causticmuse February 13, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Oh, and here is a pic of my latest batch, minus one that I ate for testing purposes only. 😉

    http://maggiewang.com/photos/d/2540-2/BerryCrunchMuffins.JPG

  7. 7 Amyella February 13, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Those DO look quite scrumptious!! My oven is a little wonky, so others may have more favorable results with less cooking time as well.

  8. 8 causticmuse February 13, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I think the 25 minutes worked for me because I wasn’t using a jumbo muffin tin, just a standard cupcake size one. Chris just had a muffin, and he said they were chewier and denser than expected but still good.

    Personally, I LIKE the chewy texture. It makes the muffin last longer.

    😀


Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
wordpress visitor counter

