Low Cal Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

Low-Cal Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

1 1/2 cups rolled oats, ground in food processor
1/2 cup of Fiber One cereal
1/4 cup oatmeal, dry
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
5 oz of baby food prunes
6 egg whites
13 packets of Splenda (about a half cup of Splenda Granular or Sugar)
1 1/4 cup canned pumpkin

Macros for one muffin:
59 calories, 13 g carb, 3 g protein, .4 g fat, 1 g fiber

Yield: 12 muffins (6 servings)

Yay for 2 muffins = one serving

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Spray two loaf pans, muffin tins, or 9×13 cake pan with nonstick cooking spray.
3. Combine flour, cereal/bran, baking soda, salt, oats, and spices in bowl and set aside.
4. In large bowl, combine sweetener, applesauce/prunes and egg whites and whisk or mix with an electric mixer until well blended.
5. Combine in dry ingredients until blended.
6. Pour into pans or muffin tins.
7. Bake approximately 25 – 30 minutes (20-25 minutes for cake pan) or until fork inserted in center comes out clean.
8. Allow to cool completely and store in airtight container or cut into pieces to be individually frozen.

4 Responses to “Low Cal Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins”


  1. 1 Elissa December 5, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    I left this note with Maggie, too.. but I just made these muffins and they turned out horribly. They tasted overwhelmingly like baking soda. Is it possible that 2t. soda is NOT the right amount? I even put a crapload of Splenda in it (I wasn’t sure how to measure 13 packets because I have just a box, not packets) and it still came out really bitter and didn’t really taste like pumpkin at all. 😦

  2. 2 Amyella December 6, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Oh Elissa that sucks! 😦 You can certainly omit the baking soda if you want- the muffins won’t rise that much but it’s not really a big deal. You could also cut it back to 1 tsp and give that a try.

    13 packets of splenda is approximately a half cup of splenda granular, or about a half cup of real sugar.

    One last thought – did you sift your baking soda in? It’s possible that you ended up with one big soda lump instead of having it thoroughly integrated into the dry ingredients…

  3. 3 Elissa December 6, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    I thought I mixed the baking soda in really well.. but I tried a piece off a couple of different muffins and they all tasted really bitter and gross, which makes me think that it was just, overall, too much b. soda.

    I’ll try again with less b. soda and see what happens. I really want this recipe to work because I love pumpkin and I love muffins, and the two things together sound really good!

    I’ll let you know how it goes after my next batch.


  1. 1 Maria’s Pumpkin Apple Muffins « At Least It’s Not Raining Trackback on October 27, 2008 at 12:15 am

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
wordpress visitor counter

