Lean Beef Chili

Super tasty beef and bean chili. I like a lot of heat, so I use a full tablespoon of the cayenne pepper, black pepper and chili powder, but if you like a milder heat follow measurements below or adjust to your taste.

Lean Beef Chili

2 lbs 95% lean ground beef
1 bag frozen pepper and onion mix
2 Tbs minced garlic
3 cans no salt added kidney beans
4 cans diced tomatoes
1/2 Tbs cayenne pepper
1/2 Tbs black pepper
1/2 Tbs chili powder
1 Tbs cumin
1 Tbs oregano
1 Tbs marjoram
1 Tbs cocoa powder
1 tsp salt

Spray a crock pot with non-stick spray and turn on high. In pan, cook meat until no longer pink. Drain fat and add meat to crock pot. Cook onion, peppers and garlic until water is cooked off. Add to crock pot. Add drained beans, chopped tomato and spices to crock pot. Stir well and cover.
Cook 3 hours on high.

Makes 12 servings. Each:
223 calories
3 g fat
25 g carb
8 g fiber
23 g protein

6 Responses to “Lean Beef Chili”


  1. 1 Hilary December 1, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Hi Amyella, thank you so much for the invite! (and thanks to Rae for her blog post) I’ve been a reader for a while now, so I missed your blog when I couldn’t read anymore!

    Hilary xx

  2. 2 Amyella December 1, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Hilary – So glad you wrote Rae! She is just the best for putting up that post!

    🙂

  3. 3 Stef December 2, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    Yum! I love Chili!!!!

    I saw the post on Rae’s blog. That was nice of her to do….she is so sweet. I didn’t realize the reason for you blog going private. I am sorry you have had trouble with people that aren’t so nice. I had the same trouble about 18 months ago and that is why I have a private blog. Some pretty nasty things were said about me by people that I though were my friends. It sucked, but I learned that there are those people that are not really friends at all. It was a hard lesson for me. I am glad to be on your list of readers!

    =)

  4. 4 Evelyne December 3, 2007 at 4:25 am

    Yum, yum. Sounds perfect for a chilly day. Some of which we are experiencing now. YUCK. I hate the cold and snow. Is winter over yet?

  5. 5 causticmuse December 4, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    I also posted a note about your blog going private along with a modified pumpkin muffin recipe you shared on Pink Dumbbells a while back.

    Hopefully that will catch some more of your readers who may not read Rae’s blog (yet). 🙂

  6. 6 Amyella December 4, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Thanks Maggie!


Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
wordpress visitor counter

