Chicken Tortilla Soup

I roasted a chicken this weekend and then boned it to make a soup. Erin had mentioned something about Chicken Tortilla Soup the other night on the phone (hmm, Erin and I sure do talk a lot about food and cooking, don’t we?) and that sounded damn tasty, so this is what I put together this morning.

I didn’t measure anything out but if you’re any kind of intermediate cook you can figure out the right portions. I also did not run the macros (kinda hard when you have no measurements) I just know by eyeballing it that it fits into my nutrition plan and that’s good enough for me right now.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

A couple or few cups of cooked, diced/shredded chicken
About 1 small onion
1-3 serrano peppers (depending on your heat preference)
Couple cloves of minced garlic
Couple cups frozen corn kernels
1 28oz can tomato puree
2 quarts low sodium, FF chicken broth
salt
pepper
cumin

Sautee the onions, garlic, peppers, corn kernels until softened and slightly golden. Add salt, pepper and cumin to the vegetables. Add the tomato puree, chicken and broth. Bring to a boil then reduce and simmer about 10 minutes. Taste, adjust seasonings if necessary.

You could toast up some corn tortillas and then break them into pieces and serve on top of a bowl of this soup, depending on how much corn you use in the soup and how many carbs you need at that meal. I guess if you don’t then it would be Chicken with No Tortillas Soup.

0 Responses to “Chicken Tortilla Soup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
wordpress visitor counter

