Amy’s Ground Turkey Cacciatore

Cacciatore is traditionally made with chicken, but I like using the ground turkey breast just as a personal preference. Some cacciatore recipes will have mushrooms in them, or carrots and many don’t include olives. I use peppers, onions and olives because that’s how my mom made it growing up – in fact, this tastes very much like my mom’s chicken cacciatore even though it’s “Amy food” friendly 🙂

I usually eat this over rice. Macros below don’t include rice.

Amy’s Ground Turkey Cacciatore

3 lbs 99% lean ground turkey breast
2 bags frozen pepper and onion mix (the brand I use is red, green, yellow bell peppers and onions – you could use fresh if you want)
2 -28 oz cans of crushed tomatoes
1/2 cup large green olives, chopped
garlic powder
parsley
salt
pepper
1 packet splenda

*note: Auntie just told me that my Nana’s secret ingredient in cacciatore is red wine vinegar. A couple splashes. I wouldn’t doubt Nana.

Spray a large pot liberally with cooking spray. Saute the frozen (or fresh) peppers and onions. Stir them around and let them saute long enough to cook off any water and allow them to start to carmelize. Add ground turkey, stir to break up. Cook until turkey is almost completely cooked. Add the two cans of crushed tomatoes, olives, 1 packet of splenda. Stir. Add salt, pepper, parsley, garlic powder to taste. Stir. Let it come to a boil, then cover and let simmer for a a few hours.

Makes 12 servings. Each serving:

176 calories
2 g fat
17 g carb
3.5 g fiber
26 g protein

2 Responses to “Amy’s Ground Turkey Cacciatore”


  1. 1 Meghan October 24, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    OMG, the red wine vinegar makes a HUGE difference in taste! My DH and I are going gaga over how much better the sauce tastes with that one addition! I heart your Nana! 🙂

  2. 2 Jane December 22, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    I made this today for the first time and it is AWESOME. I also added Nana’s recommended red wine vinegar, and it’s just the perfect ZING ! Love it love it love it … I also dumped in an entire (small) jar of little stuffed Spanish olives, minus the brine. Too lazy to pit and chop the whole giant green ones I had on hand.


Leave a Reply

Personal Blog

Hi All!
I hope you enjoy the recipes! If you want to read about my random musings you can find me at http://www.amyella.com
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
wordpress visitor counter

